Prof. Oyewale Tomori
D.V.M., Ph.D., FAS (Nigeria), FRCPath (UK), FCVSN, FASTMH, NNOM, NAM

Personal Statement

Oyewale Tomori is the immediate past President of the Nigerian Academy of Science with experience in virology, disease prevention and control. He was at the University of Ibadan from 1971 to 1994. He later served as the pioneer Vice Chancellor of the Redeemer’s University in Nigeria from 2004 to 2011. From 1994 to 2004, he was the virologist for the World Health Organization (WHO)’s Africa Region, establishing the African Regional Polio Laboratory Network for polio diagnosis. The Network served as the precursor and building framework for other Regional laboratory networks- Yellow Fever, Measles, and some other bacterial diseases. In 1981, he was recognized by the U.S. Canters for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for contributions to Lassa fever research. In 2002, he received the Nigerian National Order of Merit, the country’s highest award for academic and intellectual attainment and national development. Dr. Tomori has served/continues to serve on numerous national and global advisory committees, including: Lassa Fever Steering Committee, National Laboratory Technical Working Group, Expert Working Group on Polio Eradication and Routine Immunization, WHO SAGE, WHO Africa Regional Polio Certification Committee (ARCC), WHO Group of Experts on Yellow Fever Disease, WHO Emergency Committees on International Health Regulations (Yellow Fever, Ebola, & Polio), GAVI Board, U.S. National Academy of Medicine Global Health Risk Framework Commission, and World Bank Interagency Working Group on Financing Preparedness and Response. He is an international member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine and Senior Fellow, Scowcroft Institute at the Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University. He currently serves as Laboratory Planning and Quality Monitoring Adviser on COVID19 Preparedness and Response, at WHO Africa Region, assisting in the establishment of the Sequencing Laboratory Network for COVID-19 in Africa, among other activities. He chairs the Federal Ministry of Health Ministerial Committee on Covid19 Response. He is also the Chair, Board of Biovaccines Nigeria Ltd and has authored/co-authored over 160 scientific publications.